Enjoy it.

11 Dec

It’s a hard for me to wrap my little head around the fact that I’ve been a graduate of college for eight months and working my big kid job for nearly six months. Before this, my life was a series of semesters. For the past 17 years it has been the pattern of semester, break, semester, break, etc but last May that ended with one last ceremony involving one of the most ridiculous outfits ever (seriously, caps and gowns were designed by a man because any woman knows better than to put someone in an over sized tablecloth and flat hat).

Now things don’t really have an end date. Instead of getting a month off for Holiday break, I get Christmas Day and New Year’s Day off and let’s not even talk about the lack of summer. I have to make tough decisions like, “Do I continue to live at home for another couple of months so I can have more money and reevaluate where I am after that” or “What does all this crazy insurance stuff really mean crazy customer service lady”?

I really do like being finished with school. I love knowing that the weekend is mine and won’t be filled with paper writing, studying and RA pagers (which, side note, I still freak out for just a moment when I hear a pager alarm… makes watching Private Practice and Grey’s kind of stressful). I love that I’m making a paycheck even if it’s not enough to do much. I love the freedom.

But I miss the spontaneous Sonic runs. I miss staying up watching CSI until 3 in the morning even though I have an 8:30 class. I miss taking a nap in the middle of the day because class was canceled. I miss everyone being close enough to have dinner every Sunday.

I am so proud of my friends and classmates who are graduating this weekend. It’s such a strange feeling to be an adult and not really know what the future holds but at the same time it’s really cool to know that right now the possibilities are almost endless.

Enjoy it.

graduation

Leave a Reply

