International spies need resumes too

12 Dec

A really good friend of mine is applying to be a resident assistant. This year they are asking for resumes and I asked if I could take a look at his (because I’m nosy).

It looked like almost any other resume. Name, objectives, employment history, education… you know the drill. Everything looked really good. Then I started reading his job responsibilities and literally laughed out loud at my desk. This is what he had typed out so nicely:

Managing the front desk by coordinating the check out and reservation of equipment, daily accounting procedures, assassinating residents and staff with needs and concerns, managing….

“Whoa, whoa, whoa,” I think to myself. “Assassinating?!”

I quickly typed back to my friend, “Did you mean assisting? Because, although there may be moments when someone is really that annoying, I don’t think assassinating them would be appropriate.”

His responds: “Crap. I just sent it in.”

That’s so typically him.

One Response to “International spies need resumes too”

  1. naturemyway December 16, 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    What a hoot! It sounds like something I would do… (ahem) actually HAVE done. However, I have found that very few prospective employers actually read the darn thing anyway. Of course, if they were to skim over it, that one mistake would pop out at them screaming “Don’t hire this moron!” Perhaps if it made them laugh, you might get an interview for your sense of humor! Go figure…

Leave a Reply

