Just perpetuating my list making obsession

29 Dec

It’s a problem. I will make lists of just about everything. “To buy” lists. “To return” lists. “Dream” lists. “Things I don’t understand” lists. “To do” lists. I even go as far as to put things on my “to do” list that I’ve already done so I get the satisfaction of crossing it off.

So in honor of my love for lists and all things bullet pointed, here’s what I’ve been up to since my last post.

  • Make a fool of myself by falling in the snow while standing perfectly still. I’m pretty sure I’m the only person who could do that.
  • Proceed to finish Christmas shopping on Christmas Eve at Target. What was I thinking?
  • Take part in the traditional Christmas Eve dinner at the grandparents: Picnic under the tree, reading of “Twas the Night Before Christmas” and receiving of ugly purse. Night complete.
  • Realize I’m old as I fall asleep at 11 p.m. watching a movie.
  • Sleep in on Christmas day! Okay, so it was 8:30 but this is the first year that the younger siblings haven’t woken the house up at 5:30 to open gifts.
  • Receive an acoustic guitar – wahoo! – from “Santa” (Mom, I know it’s you) and realize that I’m terrible at tuning a guitar with a piano.
  • Add “purchase tuner” to my after-Christmas shopping list.
  • Get the most amazing pair of p.j. pants known to mankind. Seriously you forget you’re wearing pants, they’re that soft.
  • Spend most of the day in said pants but do get dressed to go see “Four Christmases” with the siblings at a packed movie theater.
  • Chit chat with the 2008 NCAA Basketball Champion’s head coach while waiting for movie to start.
  • Gorge self on large buttered popcorn and take advantage of free refill to take home to mom. She didn’t raise a dummy.
  • Spend Friday throwing cash at the after-Christmas sales. Purchase Christmas lights for half price and transform room into party central.
  • Tune guitar. Play “Jingle Bells” and realize second string sounds wrong. Realize I don’t know enough about guitars to figure out what’s wrong. Fail.
  • Exceed the amount of movies one person should watch in a day on Saturday.
  • Become a cliche by watching a chick flick and painting nails at the same time.
  • Realize I’ve done absolutely nothing worthwhile on Sunday and spend the afternoon designing the program for friend’s wedding.
  • Feel like I’ve accomplished something during my vacation.

Now it’s back to work but it’s only for a couple of days. I’m heading to The Little Apple for New Year’s.

That should prove to be entertaining.

Leave a Reply

