Working on my patience… Some days are better than others

5 Feb

I like to think that I’ve changed since I was 18 years old. I look different. I’m interested in new things. But more importantly, I don’t act like the immature, selfish version of me that paraded around almost five years ago. While certain situations still frustrate me, I tend to try to avoid the drama and think things through before voicing my opinion. And for those of you reading this who know me (who am I kidding, you three are the only ones reading this blog), you know I still voice my opinion a lot so you can only imagine the problems I got into in junior high and high school.

It’s strange to think that over the past five years I have become such a different person. I’m not saying I’m perfect because, oh my goodness, I have issues but I’m trying to be a better person. I’m trying to be an adult, a person my parents can be proud off and my siblings can look up to since being the oldest apparently makes me a role-model of some sort. Sorry kids, you’re stuck with me.

But… oh you knew there was going to be a but.

There are certain people, specifically people I know from high school, who for some reason can make me regress into the old me. My childish side rears its ugly head when they say and do things and all I want to do is be just as passive aggressive about things and do something completely immature like text them all the mean names I want to call them or change my Facebook status to something like, “Really, that’s how we’re playing this game?! Bring it.”

I’m quick to anger with these people while I’m more understanding with my post high school friends. I don’t understand the reasoning behind their actions other than they don’t mind hurting their friends to get something they want thus igniting the old me into boiling blood and frustration.

However, I suppose I can say I’ve grown up a little because instead of lashing out at these people like I probably would have done previously, I try to not let it bother me.

But then again, this entry is a little passive aggressive, isn’t it? Like I said, I’m not perfect.

One Response to “Working on my patience… Some days are better than others”

  1. leslie February 6, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    I personally enjoy seeing you lash out…shows you are human! And lets face it…i love me some spicey faryle!!!!

Leave a Reply

