Embarrassing Confession Number 13

27 Feb

Did anyone else have parents who would spell things out so you wouldn’t know what they were talking about when you were little? You know, “Maybe it’s time for a N-A-P,” kind of comment that would leave you confused and curious while your parents shook their head like they were speaking some secret language only the two of them understood.

I confess. People can still spell things out and it takes me an embarrassingly long time to figure out what they are talking about.

I’m an educated person but whatever part of my brain that is supposed to be able to spell words quickly does not work properly. Someone will spell something and it’s like I’m in first grade again sounding out each individual letter phonetically making a word.

My parents think this is hilarious and will spell out words to this day just to frustrate me.

2 Responses to “Embarrassing Confession Number 13”

  1. Greg Brown February 27, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    That’s actually how I learned to spell. I LOVED apples back then, so my parents would always have to spell it out so that I wouldn’t clue into it. And that’s why I learned how to spell, so they couldn’t hide stuff like that from me.

    I also learned to read so I could see in the TV Guide when Sesame Street was on next. I was a strange, strange child.

  2. Sarah March 2, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    I hear you. I’m the same way. I also suck at spelling, which people find strange because I’m a writer. Apparently all writers are also supposed to be perfect spellers. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

