Uh, he’s my brother.

30 Mar

My baby brother is a cute kid. He’s tall and athletic and one of the sweetest people I know. Up until I went to college, however, we were always fighting. We knew how to drive the other one crazy and in typical little brother fashion, he would push my buttons.

But now that he is a senior in high school, we are really good friends.

The problem with this is when we hang out together people automatically assume we are together, as in dating together. While awkward enough when people assume you are dating a friend of the opposite sex when you are just friends, it’s even more uncomfortable when it’s your own brother.

We were at dinner with my mom and dad and the waitress brought as the checks split up: one with my parent’s meals and the other with  my brother and my meals.

Yeah, ’bout that.

A former teacher stopped my brother in the aisle of the grocery story and asked who his girlfriend was. You should have seen her face when he informed her I was his sister.

Uncomfortable.

It always makes me laugh because we look so much alike (I mean, seriously, there is no denying that the four of us kids are related) and the fact that I am four years older than him. I think it makes him squirm which makes it all that much better.

4 Responses to “Uh, he’s my brother.”

  1. Sommer March 30, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Oh my goodness happens to me and Keegan all the time too! And the other half of the time people are like are you twins? Silly people. That’s cute that it makes your brother embarrassed though.

  2. Sarah March 30, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    On the opposite end of the scale my high school boyfriend and I looked quite similar (blonde hair, blue eyes and full lips) and we often got mistaken for siblings. Quite awkward any way you slice it.

  3. bronzedshoe March 31, 2009 at 3:10 am #

    Hahaha, that’s hilarious. There are seven years between my brother and I, but with how young I look and how old he looks, we might get similar comments soon.

  4. Lindsay March 31, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    lmao, cute story. My sister and I are eight years apart and hated one another until I moved out then we became best friends. I can only imagine how your brother feels when people think that you are his girlfriend lol

Leave a Reply

