Red, White and OMG

22 Jun

Saturday, June 20th: Red, White and Boom 2009 in Kansas City

1:15 pm: Standing in a mile long line with what I believe may have been the entire population of 12-17 year olds in the KC Metro area.

P6190001x

1:32 pm: Starts to sprinkle. Laugh at the crazy mom in front of us fighting with the security guard about bringing her umbrella and backpack into the venue.

1:47 pm: Witness what is quite possibly the worst hair ever. Fried bleach blond on top and tar black on bottom.

2:00 pm: Gates open and we hear this gem of a quote from a 14 year old girl in her homemade glitter shirt, “If it’s moving fast enough, water can cut you!”

2:14 pm: Find spot on hill to sit for the afternoon of concerts.

P6190005x

2:15 pm: Sky opens up. Pat myself on the back for not wearing a white shirt.

P6190007x

3:40 pm: Still raining. Realize I have no idea who any of the first three acts are.

4:36 pm: What is with neon colored outfits? I’m pretty sure no one looks cute in neon pink booty shorts and an electric blue tank top.

5:03 pm: Rain stops and sun comes out! Decide it was real silly to do my hair. Now I just look like a drowned rat.

P6190015x

5:31 pm: Why is Ashley Tisdale here and can you really call her the host of the event if she is only on stage for two seconds?

5:45 pm: MATT NATHANSON!

P6190019x

5:53 pm: “There are a lot of kids here. So this song is about….. ice cream. Ice cream so good you want to spank it.” ~ Matt in reference to his song “Come On Get Higher”

6:15 pm: Sky opens up again.

7:00 pm: Rain stops but the last storm has guaranteed that we will never quite dry out for the rest of the night.

7:10 pm: Take a glorious nap during some random performance. Honestly, we only went for two people and really didn’t know anyone else.

7:28 pm: White men rapping. I’m sorry. I can’t take you seriously.

8:45 pm: Purchase the most expensive margarita ever. But damn was it good.

9:50 pm: CAN’T. CONTROL. THE. EXCITEMENT!

P6190031x

9:51 pm: DAVID COOK! This, my friends, is my future husband. He just doesn’t know it yet. I have now regressed to acting like a screaming, prepubescent girl.

I know, I know, the picture is terrible. Call it artsy. Call it blurry. Call it whatever because it’s DAVID COOK!

P6190035x

11:12 pm: Firework show and the great search for the car.

11:23  pm: Sonic for dinner. Funny how $5 at Sonic buys me a hamburger, tater tots and drink while the same amount buys me a warm pretzel and a thimble of cheese at the concert.

1:20 am: Realize that I am old while complaining about being sore from sitting on the ground all day.

3 Responses to “Red, White and OMG”

  1. Leslie June 22, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    YOu forgot to mention Tyler, unfortunate white pants, vest girl, 11 years old crooner, bitchy mom behind us, it raining adolescents, and being allergic to 14 year olds

  2. Leslie June 22, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    oh and bad canvas girl that took a millon and half pics!

  3. faryle June 22, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    Holy cow, I forgot a lot. I should probably just quit this blogging business now while I’m semi ahead.

Leave a Reply

