Summer Sun

20 Jul

I stepped barefoot onto the sun-kissed concrete and it burned my toes. It was almost too hot to walk on but instead of slipping on a pair of flip flops, I stood and enjoyed it.

There is something about walking barefoot on hot pavement that makes me think of being a kid. It reminds me of summer days eating Bomb Pops on the front porch and ruining white t-shirts with red and blue popsicle stains. It reminds me of swimming lessons at city park and my favorite purple swimsuit. It reminds me of climbing trees and reading books and my mom yelling my name at sunset to come home from a day of playing outside.

And it makes me forget about being an adult with a job and bills to pay and friends moving away.

barefoot{photo}
Leave a Reply

