Case of Mistaken Identity

2 Mar

I don’t usually answer phone numbers I don’t recognize. If they are someone I know or it’s important, they will leave me a message. So when a number I didn’t know popped up on my screen this afternoon, I let it go to voicemail and didn’t think much of it.

Not two seconds later, I get a text from the same unknown number. It read:

Where the f*** are you?*

Whoa… aggressive much, stranger? I figured if I didn’t respond they would get the hint. Oh no. A minute later I got a text that read:

I’m tired of dealing with your s***. If you don’t call me back, we are done!!!!!

Now I’m intrigued. I’m not dating anyone so it can’t be a message for me unless I’m sleep dating which in that case, my nocturnal social life is much better and more interesting than my real one.

I digress.

Besides the message is totally from a girl because no straight man uses that many exclamation points in one text.

So being the kind person that I am, I responded with:

You obviously aren’t in a very serious relationship if you don’t even have the right number for the person you are looking for. Good luck with that. Hope everything works out for you.

No response.

Yeah, I’m mean like that.

*Edited for the sensitive eyes that read this blog.

One Response to “Case of Mistaken Identity”

  1. bmary March 13, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    great response!

Leave a comment