That Halloween House

31 Oct

I just had the sudden realization that for the first time ever I’m living in a place with a doorbell and a neighborhood with kids.

And I don’t have any candy.

I don’t want to be that house. Handing out packets of instant oatmeal, bags of pretzels, apples, dental floss.

You know the house. There’s one on every block. The little old lady with the cats who has the biggest lawn in the neighborhood but won’t let anyone play on it.

So either I purchase a bag of fun-sized chocolate goodness that I will inevitably eat most of or leave my porch light off and pretend like no one is home… while eating a bag of fun-sized chocolate goodness.

Win-win.

2 Responses to “That Halloween House”

  1. Jamie Hodgson October 31, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    I will be sitting in my house in the dark pretending not to be home because my dogs will go NUTS with the doorbell ringing all night :)
    I actually thought about you and how that works in your house since you are downstairs and Richard is upstairs and technically in charge of any door answering (in my opinion) So, I think you could hide in your part of the house and not worry about it at all!

    • faryle October 31, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      I like the way you think, Jamie!

Leave a Reply

